I can't sleep. I woke up at 6am, and it's been a hopeless cause since then. So, I decided to post. I guess there's too much on my mind to sleep. Right now I feel like I'm right on the verge of either getting all my dreams or totally losing control. There's far too much going on in my life.
DH and I have been trying to get pregnant for about a year now with no luck. Well, I suppose I should qualify that a little bit. I feel like we've been trying for a year, but I think he'd say it's more like 6 months. I stopped taking birth control pills on my birthday last year (August 2005), but we didn't start "really trying" until April 2006. Either way, I'm still not pregnant :-(
After taking all of the Clomid I'm allowed, 6 months worth (which was the only way I'd ovulate), my doctor finally referred me to a specialist. I went there two weeks ago, and it all feels like a whirlwind since then. I apparently have PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome), which explains my lack of a period without medical intervention (Clomid or Provera). So, he put me Metformin. I've heard so many scary stories about the side effects, so we'll see how that goes. I don't start taking it until later today b/c I had an HSG yesterday, and apparently HSGs can be dangerous if you're on Met (who'd have known?) At least everything came back normal with that test!
We also found out that we have serious problems with MFI (male factor infertility). When we got the results of his semen analysis back we were very surprised. He has 19% motility (should be 50+), severe viscosity, only 780,000 live sperm in the sample (should be 8 million+), and 6% morphology (should be 15%+). All of those numbers add up to a pretty good explanation of why we haven't gotten pregnant yet. DH hasn't really accepted it yet. He says he wants to wait and see a specialist (urologist) to see if he can fix it all. The reproductive endocrinologist told me that "there are just too many issues for us to really expect a solution to them all" and I'm inclined to believe him.
We have another appointment with the re on Monday to discuss where we go from here. He wanted to get all of our test results back before "moving forward." However, he has already told me that he thinks that IVF with ICSI is really our only option. DH is skeptical. He thinks that they are "just trying to sell the most expensive product." I really don't think that's the case! He hasn't been able to make it to any of the earlier appointments, so he's just been hearing the messages from me. I'm hoping that it will help him to be there on Monday. That way he can ask his questions in person, directly to the doctor.
3 years ago
No comments:
Post a Comment