Ok, I guess this is going to be a long post. There's a whole lot of updating I need to do. It's the right time though, I'm stuck on bedrest, and DH is being really strict about it. It took about 30 minutes of negotiating to convince him it was ok for me to brush my teeth! (There was NO way I could convince him to let me take a shower - that's tonight!) Here's the recap so far:
Thursday (Thanksgiving) - We spent the day with DH's father and family. There was quite a group there, so it was easy to hide that I wasn't feeling 100%. I also got to talk to his brother-in-law for a while. He's having a hard time that I'm not going to go into here, but sufficed to say, it made me appreciate my marriage even more! It was really good that I didn't have to take any shots that day. (My one day off)
Friday - Our egg retrieval was scheduled for 11am, so we had to be there at 10. I was so scared, but it really wasn't bad at all. They put the IV in really quickly after we got there, and DH kept me laughing the whole time until they took me back for the operation. I remember them telling me to sit down on the operating table, then I got dizzy and layed down. The next thing I knew I was waking up in my little room and Chris was there. I was a little sore, but I didn't end up needing anything other than Tylenol.
Saturday - I continued with my Gatorade (32 ounces AT LEAST) every day. They also called with my first update:
21 eggs retrieved
18 mature
15 fertilized
12 still growing
Sunday - This was a bad day for me. A scheduling nurse called me early in the morning to say that all 12 of my embies were still growing and to tell me that I was scheduled for a transfer the next day at 4pm. This made no sense b/c they had told me from the beginning that they were going to do a day 5 transfer (Wed) as long as there were more than 2 still growing well. Since I was so confused and worried, they had my nurse call. Sadly, my nurse gave me a more accurate (but less happy) report that explained why they were moving my transfer.
2 at 2 cells and growing slowly
8 at 4 cells and growing well with significant fragmentation (apparently fragmentation is bad for embies)
1 at 3 cells and growing ok
1 at 4 cells and growing really well
Monday - My nurse called in the morning to let me know that they were starting to look better, but they still wanted me to come in for a transfer. So, we got there at 3:30 for a 4pm transfer. I was SO nervous, but it turns out that was for nothing. The hardest part was having to do it with a full bladder! I had to go to the bathroom so bad, and I just had to wait for them to finish. Before we got there, DH and I were going to push for them to transfer 3 since it was a day 3 transfer (less likely to stick than day 5). However, my dr convinced us to just do 2 b/c they were very high quality embies, and he was REALLY afraid we'd end up with triplets!
They transferred 2 "perfect" 8-celled embryos, and there were about 5 or 6 that we're still watching grow. If they continue until Wednesday or Thursday, we'll freeze them and be able to have embies for frozen transfer later. We'd really like that, so please keep your fingers crossed for us!!! We'll know if any of them made it by the end of the week.
As I said at the beginning of the post, I'm on complete bedrest until 5pm tonight (24 hours from the transfer). I am then on "limited activity" for the rest of the week. I want them to stick SO badly!!!
3 years ago
No comments:
Post a Comment