Saturday, June 19, 2010

Leaving my girls

Monday morning I am heading back to work (full-time). I've been kinda working a little here and there since I got pregnant with Beanie. Actually, I worked pretty much full-time until about a month or so before she was born, but I was a contractor, and that "work" was from a variety of clients that didn't require me full-time onsite. This is going to be different. I'm leaving the house at 7:30 am, and I won't be back until 4:30 or so. Beanie's life isn't really going to change much. She'll just get to preschool 30 minutes early, and leave 30 minutes late. I'm not even sure if she'll notice! I know I'm super lucky. I'm going to be working 10 - 15 minutes from home and 5 minutes from Beanie's school. Plus, I almost made it until the minis were 8 months old (one week shy) and that I will be home before 5pm every night, but it doesn't keep me from being sad. I didn't start working again (at all) after Beanie was born until she was 15 months old. She was walking, talking a bit, and even trying to use the big girl potty. The minis are still so little. Bird is trying to crawl now, but Bear is still not close. They are both getting services from the county, OT for Bird and PT for Bear, and neither of them is talking at all. They are just starting to get the hang of eating pureed solids!

I'm sure they'll be fine. We have an amazing nanny, who loves them like they are related. She's the really small blond person hiding behind Bird the the pic. She'll take great care of them. She has already been part of their little lives for the past 6 months, and I know she'll be great. I just don't feel ready to leave yet. I feel like they still need me, and I think I'm a little afraid that I'll be replaced as the #1 person in their worlds. Wish me luck and lots of strength. I think I'm going to need it on Monday morning!
Posted by Picasa

Tuesday, June 01, 2010

Big Girl Bed

Bean has FINALLY moved from a crib to a big girl bed.  We had been trying for months to get her to agree to it, but she would cry (quite pitifully) every time we mentioned it and launch into a speech on how much she loved her crib.  Then, out of the blue, she told us she wants to be able to get out of the bed in the middle of the night by herself in case she needs to go potty.  So, we converted her crib, and she's had a toddler bed for 3 days now.  She has yet to get up in the middle of the night to go potty, but she keeps telling me how happy she is to have that option :)